Plexipave chosen for 2014 Mexican Open

November 19, 2013 admin

California Sports Surfaces is excited to announce that Plexipave IW has been chosen as the new surface of the Mexico Open.

2014 will mark the first year the tournament will be played on an acrylic tennis court instead of a clay surface. This change was greatly influenced by the tournament at Indian Wells.  Indian Wells, an ATP World Masters 1000 event, directly follows the Mexico Open and is also played on Plexipave IW.

“California Sports Surfaces is very pleased that our Plexipave IW surface was selected to replace the clay at the Mexico Open. This was made possible by our long term relationship with our Authorized Applicators in Mexico, NovaGrass, and our ability to provide them with the desired play characteristics. NovaGrass will provide the expertise required to complete this project in a timely and professional manner. We look forward to a long relationship with the Mexico Open.” – Art Tucker, Vice President

The Mexico Open is an ATP World Tour 500 series and WTA international tournament presented by Telcel and HSBC. On the ATP tour the Mexico Open is the last tournament in the Golden Swing series consisting of 4 Latin American based tournaments. Since it’s creation in 2001, no player has claimed more than two of the four titles per year.

“Plexipave was the first choice to have in this new era of the Abierto Mexicano de Tenis. It is a big plus to the players to have the opportunity to play on the same surface as Indian Wells, the first Masters of the year.” – Raul Zurutuza, Tournament Director.

The 9 current courts will be resurfaced with Mexican Open-IW.  The interior will be a new signature color called Mexico Open Blue while the exterior will be finished with AO True Blue. Tournament Director, Raul Zurutuza, was especially pleased about the new blue stating, “The colors chosen by the tournament management gave us a great ‘look and feel’ for both fans and sponsors”. The tournament will be played February 24- March 1, 2014. Players attending include Andy Murray & David Ferrer.